

April 9, 2021

Senators United States Senate Washington, DC

RE: Trade-Related Aspects of Intellectual Property Rights waiver at the World Trade Organization

Dear Senators,

Greetings from the Africa Faith and Justice Network (AFJN), a faith-based, non-partisan coalition of 29 US-based religious communities of men and women. Inspired by the Gospel and informed by Catholic Social Teaching, we seek to educate and advocate for just relations with Africa and to work in partnership with African peoples.

As an advocacy organization, we are deeply concerned about the global impact of COVID-19 especially on the African continent. Today, we are reaching out to request that you join the effort by Senators Sanders, Warren, Brown, and Baldwin urging President Biden to support the Trade-Related Aspects of Intellectual Property Rights waiver at the World Trade Organization that will enable the acceleration of the global production and distribution of COVID-19 vaccines. Pope Francis in his recent Encyclical reminds us that we are "all in the same boat, where one person's problems are the problems of all" (Fratelli Tutti, n. 32). In this spirit, we ask you to join your colleagues in support of this waver to save people's lives and livelihoods not only in the United States, but also around the world.

We thank you for your attention to this matter.

Sincerely,

Rev. Nelson Adjei-Bediako, SMA

Executive Director

Cc:

Senator Richard Shelby Senator Mitch McConnell Senator Thom Tillis Senator Tommy Tuberville Senator Rand Paul Senator Kevin Cramer Senator Lisa Murkowski Senator Bill Cassidy Senator John Hoeven Senator Daniel S. Sullivan. Senator John Neely Kennedy Senator Rob Portman Senator Mark Kelly Senator Susan Collins Senator Jim Inhofe Senator Kyrsten Sinema Senator Angus King Senator James Lankford Senator Ben Cardin Senator John Boozman Senator Jeff Merkley Senator Tom Cotton, Senator Chris Van Hollen Senator Ron Wyden Senator Dianne Feinstein Senator Edward J. Markey Senator Bob Casey Jr. Senator Alex Padilla. Senator Gary Peters Senator Pat Toomey Senator Michael Bennet Senator Debbie Stabenow Senator Jack Reed

Senator John Hickenlooper Senator Richard Blumenthal Senator Christopher S. Murphy

Senator Christopher S. Murp Senator Tom Carper Senator Chris Coons Senator Jon Ossoff Senator Marco Rubio Senator Rick Scott Senator Raphael Warnock

Senator Raphael Warnoc Senator Mazie K. Hirono Senator Brian E. Schatz Senator Mike Crapo Senator Jim Risch

Senator Tammy Duckworth Senator Dick Durbin

Senator Mike Braun Senator Todd C. Young Senator Joni Ernst Senator Chuck Grassley Senator Roger Marshall Senator Jerry Moran Senator Amy Klobuchar Senator Tina Smith

Senator Cindy Hyde-Smith Senator Roger Wicker Senator Roy Blunt Senator Josh Hawley Senator Steve Daines Senator Jon Tester Senator Deb Fischer Senator Ben Sasse

Senator Catherine Cortez Masto Senator Jacky Rosen

Senator Maggie Hassan Senator Jeanne Shaheen Senator Cory Booker Senator Bob Menendez Senator Martin Heinrich Senator Ben Ray Luján Senator Kirsten Gillibrand Senator Chuck Schumer Senator Richard Burr Senator Sheldon Whitehouse Senator Lindsey Graham

Senator Tim Scott Senator Mike Rounds Senator John Thune Senator Marsha Blackburn

Senator Maisha Blackbur Senator Bill Hagerty Senator John Cornyn Senator Ted Cruz Senator Mike Lee Senator Mitt Romney Senator Patrick Leahy Senator Tim Kaine Senator Mark Warner Senator Maria Cantwell

Senator Shelley Moore Capito

Senator Joe Manchin III

Senator Patty Murray

Senator Ronald Harold Johnson

Senator John Barrasso Senator Cynthia Lummis