Author: Assistant Secretary Johnnie Carson and the Department of State’s Bureau of African Affairs
Category: Sub-Saharan Africa
Document Origin: The State Department’s Bureau of African Affairs
Summary & Comment: The State Department lists five pillars as the foundation for U.S. policy toward Africa. The first is “Support for democracy and the strengthening of democratic institutions on the continent, including free, fair, and transparent elections”; second, “Supporting African economic growth and development”; third, “Conflict prevention, mitigation, and resolution”; fourth, “Supporting Presidential initiatives such as the Global Health Initiative, Feed the Future, and the Global Climate Change Initiative”; and fifth, “Working with African nations on transnational issues such as drug smuggling, money laundering, illicit arms, and trafficking in persons”. The statement also highlights U.S. contributions to democracy in Cote d’Ivoire, Guinea-Conakry, Niger, Nigeria, and South Sudan, as well as its progress for economic development with the annual Africa Growth and Opportunity Act Forums and work to eliminate various atrocities such as gender-based violence in the DRC and LRA violence in Central Africa. To read the full document click here.